Once portal configuration is complete you can start to prepare your company(s) in the Qtac software to be synchronised.
If you haven't had your QPortal activated then contact the Qtac Sales Team or visit our previous article - QPortal: Activating Your QPortal.
Preparing Company Settings
Navigate to 'Company > Company Maintenance > Portal'
Activate Synchronisation - Company data can only be synchronised if there is a tick in the box 'Synchronise this company with Portal'.
Company Access Level – Now choose the required level of access for the Company Payroll Contact.
- “No Access” – No access (a company user cannot be invited).
- “Access to Company and Employee Reports” – Once a Company User has activated the account they can view, download or print payroll documents.
- “Self-service and access to reports” – Once the Company User has activated their account they can edit company and employee details, invite employees and company admins to create portal accounts. In addition to viewing, downloading or printing payroll documents.
Allow company to set HMRC Remittance as paid - ‘Calculated HMRC Returns’ displayed in 'Company > EOY Totals' will be displayed on the company users dashboard when a company sync is performed.
The company user can then record the amount paid to HMRC if ‘on upload of remittance’ has been selected.
Preparing Portal Settings
Employee Access Level - Select the level of access you would like to offer employees in this company.
Note: Employees will only have access to the portal if portal invites are sent to an employee.
- “No Access” – Even if employees email addresses are held in Qtac Software an activation email cannot be sent.
- “Payslips, P45s and P60s” – Activation email can be sent and once activated employees can view, download or print payroll documents.
- “Self Service, payslips, P45s and P60s” – Activation email can be sent and once activated employees can edit their personal details in addition to viewing, downloading or printing payroll documents.
Release Payslip to Employee - Every time payslips are synchronised to the portal employees will receive an email notification. When the employee receives the email is determined by this setting.
- “Never” – No email notification will be sent.
- “On Upload” – The email will be sent at the time the payslips are upload.
- “On Payslip Date” – The email will be released on the payslip date (or at the point uploaded if the pay date has already passed).
Printable Payslip Type - All payslips viewed on an electronic device appear in the same format however when it comes to printing a payslip there are two options:
Release P45 to Employee - Just like payslips, once P45 synchronisation has taken place the employee will receive an email notification if ‘On Upload’ is selected.
Release P60 to Employee - Just like payslips, once P60 synchronisation has taken place the employee will receive an email notification if ‘On Upload’ is selected.
Finished setting up the Portal Tab in Company Maintenance? If yes, click ‘Save’ the changes.
Payroll Groups allows the Registered User to restrict access to specified Company User(s).
If you would like to use Payroll Groups click select the radio button.
To find out more about setting up Payroll Groups take a look at our KB article - Why should I use Payroll Groups?
Once you have finished activating your QPortal you can move start preparing your company settings - See our next guide for further information.