This page explains how to manage an employee record – both deleting and duplicating.

Be sure to take a backup before committing any changes to your database in case you need to reverse the process.


Duplicate Employee

To duplicate an employee, select the employees name from the list on the payroll home screen. Now go to the ‘Employee’ button along the top and then select ‘Duplicate Employee’. You will be asked if you want to add the ‘BF (Brought Forward)‘ figures. If you say ‘Yes‘ the duplicated employee will have the same pay to date as the original. If you say ‘No‘ to this then the duplicated employee will start at month zero and the record will only have the same employee maintenance details as the original employee.


You will also be asked if the duplicate will be used to calculate the existing employee. If you are re-running the payroll for a specific employee then you will need to select ‘Will be used to calculate the existing employee‘. When selecting this option the employees details will be duplicated in full (The HMRC ID, NI number, etc.).


You can duplicate an employee with similar details to save yourself time when creating new employees on the payroll. In this instance you will need to select ‘Will not be used to calculate the existing employee‘. In this option only basic details for an employee will be copied over HMRC ID, NI number, etc. will not be carried over to the new record.


Duplicating the employee and not adding the BF figures will allow you to change the ‘Start at Pay Week/Start at Pay Month’. This is available from the ‘Pay Rates’ tab of employee maintenance. Another use is to unlock or set the ‘Employee Brought Forward’ figures which are also located in ‘Employee Maintenance‘.




Delete Employee

To delete an employee, select the employees name down the left hand side of the software and go into the ‘Employee’ button along the top and then ‘Delete…’. You can also right click the employees name down the left hand side and select ‘Delete Employee’.  You will need to type ‘CONFIRM‘ into a box that appears to show that you really want to delete the employee.


Warning: Deleting an employee will remove all of their payroll data from the payroll and remove all figures from any reports and figures at the end of the tax year.


Need More Help?

Contact Support

Contact Support

Our team are here to help.

Blog

Blog

Read our latest blogs on all things Payroll.

Video Tutorials

Video Tutorials

Check out our Video Tutorials.